You are here

Department of Education

Department of Education

The Department of Education is responsible for providing kindergarten to grade 12 education to all communities in Nunavut. This includes the overall direction, coordination, and administration of curriculum and program development; and the production of teaching and learning resources.


The department is also responsible for:

  • teacher certification

  • school improvement initiatives

  • working with District Education Authorities, Regional School Operations (RSOs) and the Commission scolaire francophone du Nunavut (CSFN)

  • supporting and coordinating the Certificate in Educational Leadership in Nunavut (CELN) program  

  • implementation of the Education Act (2009)


The Department of Education headquarters are located in Iqaluit at the Sivummut building (#1107) and satellite offices around the city. The department oversees multiple divisions such as Curriculum and School Services (C&SS) and Early Childhood Education. In addition, there are department offices throughout Nunavut. These are found in Arviat, Rankin Inlet, Baker Lake, Pangnirtung, Pond Inlet, and Kugluktuk. See the Department of Education website for more information.



Click here to view the Department of Education organization chart.



1107 Sivummut Building, 2nd Floor

PO Box 1000, Station 910 

Iqaluit, NU

X0A 0H0

Tel: (867) 975-5600 (EST)

Department of Education website


Note: Image above is David Joanasie, Nunavut 's Minister of Education.